top of page

Church History

"Ole Union" as it is so often called, has served two races of mankind in quite an active fashion.  Union became a center of religious activity for Negroes after the construction of churches in Melson and Delmar.  Ole Union was relocated from the corner of Gordy Mill and Old Stage Roads to its current location.  Church records show the original date of 1819 as the beginning.  First mention of Union in the Delaware Conference journal was not until 1867.  The current church building was erected in 1976-77.  Despite  the passage of time and changes that have been made, Union stands as a memorial to the ancestors of generations past.  Our church history was introduced to the public as a pageant production entitled "Upon this Rock" ~ Matthew 16:18, written by one of our very own, Dr. Gretta Gordy-Burnett.  Today, as we look back, we have had a glorious past, however, we look forward to an even greater future leaning on and trusting in the Lord.  "To God Be the Glory!"

Tina Taylor - 4997.jpeg

Pastor:
James L. Young

pastoryoungministries@yahoo.com

Worship Service:
Sundays, 9:00 AM

Communion:

First Sunday of each month

Bible Study:
Tuesdays, 1:00 PM & 6:00 PM 

Church Location
1203 Pine St.

Delmar, MD 21875

Church Hall Location

1211 Pine St.

Delmar, MD 21875

410-896-9588

Mailing Address
P.O. Box 541

Delmar, DE 19940

Office Hours
Wednesday 12:00 - 2:00 pm;

Otherwise by cell phone -

410-430-0065

Phone
410-896-4292

Email
umc.delmarmd@gmail.com

Lay Leader/Associate Lay Leader

  • Facebook Social Icon
bottom of page